Newman Civic Fellows Award

The  Newman Civic Fellowship is a year-long program that recognizes and supports community-committed students at Campus Compact member institutions.

The fellowship is a one-year experience that provides students with training and resources that nurture their assets and passions to help them develop strategies for social change. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides in-person and virtual learning opportunities focused on the skills fellows need to serve as effective agents of change in addressing public problems and building equitable communities.

Presidents and chancellors are encouraged to nominate one current student on the basis of their motivation and potential to create long-term social change. Learn more and nominate a student at

Congratulations to the 2021-2022 Fellows from Indiana:

  • Ball State University Aric D. Fulton, Jr.
  • University of Notre Dame Caitlyn Cano

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Fellows:

  • Anderson University, Madison Rastetter
  • Indiana University Kokomo, Mackenzie Damon
  • Indiana University Northwest, Ethyl Ruehman
  • IUPUI, Marelyn Posadas-Cuaya
  • The University of Notre Dame, Evan McKenna

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 Indiana Newman Civic Fellows:

  • Anderson University, Daniel Gaines
  • Indiana University Northwest, Jennifer Webber
  • Indiana University South Bend, Rodger Pinto
  • IUPUI, Kevin Sanders
  • Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus, Cristina Villani
  • Saint Mary’s College, Guadalupe Gonzalez
  • University of Indianapolis, Natalie Benson

The Newman Civic Fellows Awards are made possible through the generous support of the KPMG Foundation.