23-24 Faculty Fellows at dinner

Pictured from left to right: Carrie Mier (IU East, Criminal Justice), Sarah Vitale (Ball State, Philosophy), Michelle Stigter-Hayden (Butler, German/Languages), Beth Trammell (IU East, Psychology), and Senior Faculty Fellow Angela Coppola (IU Kokomo, Health Sciences) 

28th Faculty Fellows Cohort Selected

Each cohort member will receive a grant of $7,500 to complete their proposed research project. Dr. Angela Coppola of Indiana University Kokomo will lead as the Senior Faculty Fellow for the cohort.

The Community-Engaged Alliance Faculty Fellows program is an 18-month community of practice designed to reflect Ernest Boyer’s vision of the scholarship of engagement. Selected individuals serve as part of a cohort with other engaged scholars from CEA partner campuses and work in partnership on a scholarly project that seeks to advance the understanding and practice of community engagement. Fellows simultaneously incorporate community engagement into the three components of faculty work: teaching, research, and service.


2023-2024 Faculty Fellows

Angela Coppola, Associate Professor of Health Sciences, IU Kokomo
Senior Faculty Fellow

Dr. Carrie Mier, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice, IU East
Creating the Richmond Community Resilience Coalition

Ms. Michelle Stigter-Hayden, Butler University
Cultivating community: Fostering belonging through mentoring

Dr. Beth Trammell, Associate Professor of Psychology, IU East
Semi-individualized training program for early childhood educators: A pilot of antecedent and restorative interventions

Dr. Sarah Vitale, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Ball State University
Philosophy Outreach Project: Co-Creating Communities of Philosophical Inquiry with Students and Teachers


Scroll to Top