Brian Douglas Hiltunen Award for the Outstanding Contribution to the Scholarship of Engagement

We are currently accepting nominations for the Hiltunen Award, Wood Award, and Community Engagement Professional Award, due on December 31, 2022.

The Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty Award for the Outstanding Contribution to the Scholarship of Engagement honors mid to late-career faculty who exemplify what it means to be an engaged scholar. Prior to his death in 1999, Brian Hiltunen served as a project director and helped to design Community-Engaged Alliances’ faculty development programs. The Hiltunen Award was established in 2000 to honor Brian’s legacy and his work with faculty who are practicing the scholarship of engagement.

Past Hiltunen Award Winners:

  • 2022 Carla Earhart, Ball State University
  • 2021 Adam Kuban, Ball State University
  • 2020 Kraig Beyerlein, University of Notre Dame
  • 2019 Cristina Santamaría Graff, IUPUI
  • 2018 Tina Kruger,  Indiana State University
  • 2017 Priscilla Barnes, Indiana University Bloomington
  • 2016 Elizabeth Bennion, Indiana University South Bend
  • 2015 Mary Jane Eisenhauer, Purdue University North Central
  • 2014 Terri Russ, Saint Mary’s College
  • 2013 Beth Gazley, Indiana University
  • 2012 William Oakes, Purdue University-West Lafayette
  • 2011 Michael Guebert, Taylor University
  • 2010 Susan Hyatt, IUPUI
  • 2009 Judith Gray, Ball State University
  • 2008 Ange Cooksey, Indiana University East
  • 2007 Margaret Brabant, Butler University
  • 2006 Kim Wilson, Purdue University-West Lafayette
  • 2005 Linda Maule, Indiana State University
  • 2004 Chin-Sook Pak, Ball State University
  • 2003 Julie Hatcher, IUPUI
  • 2002 Susan Blackwell, Marian College
  • 2001 Roger Jarjoura, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • 2000 Robert Bringle, IUPUI
    2000 Cathy Ludlum Foos, IU East
  • 2000 Randall Osborne, IU East
  • 2000 Sharon Hammerich, Butler University
  • 2000 Richard Balkema, Valparaiso University
Scroll to Top