You Don’t Have to Know Everything to do Something  

Aug 30, 2023

You Don’t Have to Know Everything to do Something Mark Pike, August 30, 2023 Being a staff member in higher education can make you feel uninformed, overwhelmed, and cynical. If you’ve been working in higher education since 2020 you’ve likely absorbed at least a portion of your former coworkers’ responsibilities (and they probably left for […]

Collaboration Workshop in Columbus

Aug 24, 2023

Ivy Tech & Columbus Signature Academy Collaboration Workshop A few weeks ago, we had a wonderful time in Columbus, IN facilitating a workshop on service-learning and project-based learning! With the support of the Heritage Fund, faculty and staff from Ivy Tech Community College Columbus and Columbus Signature Academy Middle and High School came together to […]

New Cohort of Faculty Fellows

Aug 23, 2023

Pictured from left to right: Carrie Mier (IU East, Criminal Justice), Sarah Vitale (Ball State, Philosophy), Michelle Stigter-Hayden (Butler, German/Languages), Beth Trammell (IU East, Psychology), and Senior Faculty Fellow Angela Coppola (IU Kokomo, Health Sciences)  28th Faculty Fellows Cohort Selected Each cohort member will receive a grant of $7,500 to complete their proposed research project. […]

CEA Quarterly Update June

Jun 8, 2023

An Update from the CEA Board Chair, Chancellor Steven Combs: For more information contact Elijah Howe, PhD, Executive Director.

kiesha warren-gordon headshot

Ball State Faculty Fellow Awarded Bepko Community Engagement Award

Apr 17, 2023

Ball State Faculty Fellow Awarded Bepko Community Engagement Award INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana – Dr. Kiesha Warren-Gordon, Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology at Ball State University, has been awarded the prestigious Gerald Bepko Faculty Community Engagement Grant Award by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education. The Bepko Award is awarded biennially to a faculty member at […]

Lilly Endowment Inc. Awards Two-Year Grant to Community-Engaged Alliance

Dec 12, 2022

DECEMBER 12, 2022 Funding will help college students, faculty, and staff connect with their communities, discover their role as change-makers, and improve Indiana’s civic health. INDIANAPOLIS – Lilly Endowment Inc. has awarded a two-year $675,000 grant to Community-Engaged Alliance (CEA), a partnership of Indiana’s institutions of higher education. This funding, which begins immediately, will create […]

Elijah Howe headshot

Community-Engaged Alliance hires new executive director

Jul 15, 2022

Community-Engaged Alliance hires new executive director, Dr. Elijah Howe Community-Engaged Alliance is proud to announce the hiring of Dr. Elijah Howe as executive director, effective August 1, 2022. Howe brings with him 15 years of experience working at the intersection of philanthropy and higher education. “I am honored to serve as the next executive director of […]

United Way of St. Joseph County

Jun 17, 2022

United Way of St. Joseph County 2022 Outstanding Community Partner of the Year Community-Engaged Alliance is honored to recognize our community partners without whom none of this work would be possible. In 2022, we are recognizing United Way of St. Joseph County (UWSJC), as nominated by the University of Notre Dame. UWSJC has been working […]

Niki Messmore

May 11, 2022

Niki Messmore 2022 Community Engagement Professional Award Winner Niki Messmore, Director of Medical Service Learning at IU School of Medicine, earned the Community Engagement Professional Award from Community-Engaged Alliance. Established in 2006, the award honors professional staff who demonstrate an ability to effectively cultivate, facilitate, and maintain high-quality partnerships with community organizations and representatives. Messmore […]

Carla Earhart

May 11, 2022

Carla Earhart 2022 Winner of the Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty Award for the Outstanding Contribution to the Scholarship of Engagement Dr. Carla Earhart, professor of Residential Property Management (RPM) in the Miller College of Business at Ball State, was awarded the prestigious Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty Award from Community-Engaged Alliance. The Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty […]

Scroll to Top