CEA is delighted to recognize individuals at partner institutions who make an outstanding contribution to their campus and community in the state of Indiana! Members of CEA partner institutions may submit nominations. 

We offer awards for students, faculty, and campus professional staff. Awards are presented at our annual Summit and Research Symposium.

award for students

Wood Student Community Commitment Award

The Wood Student Community Commitment Award was created in 1996 in honor of Dr. Richard J. Wood who served as the founding chairperson of CEA's Board of Presidents from 1992 to 1996. This award continues Dr. Wood’s legacy and recognizes students who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to community engagement.

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Abigail Abikoye, University of Notre Dame
2021 Nathan Rowland Miller, Purdue University
2020 Eric Mejia, IU East
2019 Delaney Weiland, University of Notre Dame
2018 Steven Jessen Howard, University of Notre Dame
2017 Alexis Doyle, University of Notre Dame
2016 Cogan Blackmon, Valparaiso University
2015 Trinere Bacon, Indiana State University
2014 Peter Woo, University of Notre Dame
2013 Jon Schommer, University of Notre Dame
2012 Erin Wright, University of Notre Dame
2011 Caitlin Ryan, Indiana University Bloomington
2010 Lexie Perreras, University of Notre Dame
2009 Matthew Morrow, IUPUI
2008 Tim Polakowski, Manchester College

2007 Andrea Laidman, University of Notre Dame
2006 Steven Cartwright, University of Notre Dame
2005 Huong Nguyen, Manchester College
2004 Nicholas Dimos, DePauw University
2003 Mary E. Murphy, University of Notre Dame
2002 Paul Graham, University of Notre Dame
2001 Nicole Hallett, DePauw University
2000 Denise Smith, IUPUI
2000 Tammy Parker, Goshen College
1999 Angela Anderson, University of Notre Dame
1998 DJ Johnson, Indiana University Bloomington
1998 Juanna Watson, IUPUI
1997 Fatima Hyder, Earlham College
1997 Colleen Frazier, Indiana University East

Wood Student Award Application

Group of happy african volunteers sitting under tree at park and write something on clipboards. Africa volunteering, charity, people and ecology concept.
Award for Faculty

Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty Award

The Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty Award for the Outstanding Contribution to the Scholarship of Engagement honors mid to late-career faculty who exemplify what it means to be an engaged scholar. Prior to his death in 1999, Brian Hiltunen served as a project director and helped to design Community-Engaged Alliances’ faculty development programs. The Hiltunen Award was established in 2000 to honor Brian’s legacy and his work with faculty who are practicing the scholarship of engagement.

Previous Award Recipients

2023 Mark Latta, Marian University
2022 Carla Earhart, Ball State University
2021 Adam Kuban, Ball State University
2020 Kraig Beyerlein, University of Notre Dame
2019 Cristina Santamaría Graff, IUPUI
2018 Tina Kruger,  Indiana State University
2017 Priscilla Barnes, Indiana University Bloomington
2016 Elizabeth Bennion, Indiana University South Bend
2015 Mary Jane Eisenhauer, Purdue University North Central
2014 Terri Russ, Saint Mary’s College
2013 Beth Gazley, Indiana University
2012 William Oakes, Purdue University-West Lafayette
2011 Michael Guebert, Taylor University

2010 Susan Hyatt, IUPUI
2009 Judith Gray, Ball State University
2008 Ange Cooksey, Indiana University East
2007 Margaret Brabant, Butler University
2006 Kim Wilson, Purdue University-West Lafayette
2005 Linda Maule, Indiana State University
2004 Chin-Sook Pak, Ball State University
2003 Julie Hatcher, IUPUI
2002 Susan Blackwell, Marian College
2001 Roger Jarjoura, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
2000 Robert Bringle, IUPUI
2000 Cathy Ludlum Foos, IU East
2000 Randall Osborne, IU East
2000 Sharon Hammerich, Butler University
2000 Richard Balkema, Valparaiso University

Brian Douglas Hiltunen Award Application

Award Winners
award for staff

Community Engagement Professional Award

This award was created in 2006 to honor professional staff who demonstrate an ability to effectively cultivate, facilitate, and maintain quality partnerships with community organizations and representatives. This award recognizes Community Engagement Professionals’ knowledge and ability to conceptually, ethically, and effectively represent the foundations of the field and the breadth of community-engaged work.

Previous Award Recipients

2023 Kara DuQuette, Ball State University
2022 Niki Messmore, Indiana University School of Medicine
2021 Cindy Gil, IUPUI
2020 Delaina Boyd, Ball State University
2018 Melissa Gruver, Purdue University
2017 Heather Miklozek, Indiana State University
2016 Marianna Foulkrod, University of Indianapolis
2015 Mary Rayburn, Taylor University
2014 Stephanie Moran, Anderson University
2013 Annie Cahill Kelly, University of Notre Dame

2012 Laura Weaver, Purdue University North Central
2011 Andrew Antonio, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana-Lafayette
2010 Mike Piggott, Purdue University West Lafayette
2009 Roger Bingham, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana-Columbus
2008 Judy Back, Purdue University North Central
2007 Nancy Rogers, Indiana State University
2006 Carolyne Call, Saint Mary’s College

Community Engagement Professional Award

Award Winners
Scroll to Top